Time is Running Out to Purchase 2016 Dog Licenses

Tuesday, 19 January 2016
Time is running out for Summit County dog owners to purchase 2016 licenses for their pets. Ohio law requires all dog licenses to be renewed by January 31, 2016. The cost for a single year license is $18.00, a three-year license is $54.00 and a permanent license is $180.00. Citizens who fail to meet the January 31, 2016 deadline, will be required to pay the statutory late fee of $18.00.

On Saturday, January 30, 2016, from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m., representatives from the offices of Executive Russ Pry and Fiscal Officer Kristen M. Scalise will have dog licenses available for sale at the following Acme Fresh Market store locations: Ellet Acme No. 2 (2420 Wedgewood Drive, Akron), State Road Acme No. 10 (2226 State Rd., Cuyahoga Falls), Portage Lakes Acme No. 14 (3235 Manchester Rd., Akron), Montrose Acme No. 15 (3979 Medina Rd. (St. Rt. 18), Akron) and Stow Acme No. 17 (4445 Kent Rd., Stow).

"This is a great opportunity for dog owners to conveniently purchase their dog licenses," stated Executive Pry. "I am pleased that Acme Fresh Markets continue to partner with us by making the sale of licenses available at five of their store locations."

“Maintaining a current dog license will help your pet return home if they are lost”, said Fiscal Officer Scalise. “We now offer several licensing options to keep your pet safe and legal longer, including the new three-year tag and the permanent/lifetime tag.”

If a lost dog is brought into Summit County Animal Control wearing a license tag, staff can find the owner quickly and reunite the family and pet. If a citizen finds a lost dog in their neighborhood or on the street and it is wearing a license tag, they can visit Kristen's Kanine Search and type in the license number of a lost dog and find its home.

Dog owners may purchase licenses at the following county government office buildings:

Kennel owners must also renew their licenses during the same time period; the cost is $80 per license. Licenses for dogs providing assistance to citizens with disabilities are free of charge and valid throughout the duration of the animal's life. Proof of training must be submitted.

The Ohio Revised Code requires citizens who own, keep or harbor a dog more than three months of age to purchase a county dog license.

To apply on-line for a dog license, to find additional locations to purchase a license or for further information visit: Dog Licensing. Citizens without access to the internet may call: 330-630-7226.